FloridaDriversLicenses.org Articles

5 Steps to Best Handle a Florida DUI

If you were recently convicted of a DUI, you may need some advice—especially if this is your first offense. If you are at a loss regarding what to do, where to start, or how to best remedy the situation, here is some some helpful advice.

  1. If you are pulled over by the police and they ask you to submit to a sobriety test, do not refuse. Whether you have been drinking or not, by refusing a sobriety test, you violate the law of implied consent, which will result in a stricter punishment.
  2. If you are charged with a DUI, reserve your right to remain silent and when you get the chance, contact a reputable DUI attorney.
  3. During your court proceedings, you will be given the option of being tried by a judge or a jury. Request a trial by jury if available in your state. A jury of peers is usually more forgiving than a singular judge or magistrate.
  4. You should plead not guilty if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was below .08 percent. A prosecutor cannot charge you with driving over the legal limit and must establish that you were impaired below a .08 percent BAC
  5. You should plead guilty in a case where your BAC tested above .08 percent. There is a strong social stigma against drunk driving and perpetrators of this dangerous behavior are usually prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.