FloridaDriversLicenses.org Articles

DO YOU KNOW THE MINIMUM INSURANCE COVERAGE POLICY IN FLORIDA?

Florida requires residents to satisfy its Financial Responsibility of $10,000 worth of coverage toward Property Damage Liability and $10,000 worth of coverage toward Personal Injury Protection. What do these numbers mean? In a nutshell, you must have a policy that covers $10,000 worth of expenses due to someone else's bodily injury or death to an individual, and 10,000 worth of expenses because of damage done to another individual's personal property. This law is in place to protect drivers from other drivers who may not be insured. Most states, including Florida, have laws in place that allow victims in traffic accidents to collect financial damages from the driver at fault, as long as the amount does not exceed the coverage.

For instance, consider a hypothetical situation in which you are injured in a car accident that an insured individual causes. If you are injured in the accident and need medical attention, you are entitled to a maximum of $10,000 to cover your medical expenses. If an individual does not have the minimum coverage required by Florida, your vehicle's registration will be either suspended or revoked. Moreover, if damage to personal property or person is significantly than what the coverage provides, the petitioner, or the injured party, has recourse to collect additional damages not listed on the plan of the person at fault.

In addition, you must also notify the Florida Department of Revenue when you have purchased insurance coverage. The easiest way to do so is online, (https://services.flhsmv.gov/DLCheck/) but you may also visit a driver's licensing office or call 850-617-2000 to update your insurance information. The aforementioned phone number provides an automated menu whereby you can enter your insurance information conveniently and quickly, eliminating the risk of being penalized for not carrying insurance. Police officers are able to verify whether an individual has car insurance or not. And so, whenever an individual becomes insured in Florida, insurance companies, along with the recently insured, must notify the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles.