FloridaDriversLicenses.org Articles

Motorcycle Insurance in Florida: The Smart Route

In the state of Florida, you will need auto insurance depending on how large or powerful your vehicle's engine is. Any motorized vehicle capable of travelling at least 30 miles per hour (two horsepower) or with an engine of 50 CC or greater requires auto insurance.

In accordance with state law, motorcycle riders must maintain a minimum of $10,000 per individual injury in any one accident, $20,000 for all injuries incurred in any one accident, and $10,000 worth of coverage for any possible damage to property. In addition, riders must carry no-fault coverage, which requires that they carry 10,000 worth of coverage per person for medical expenses, as well as 5,000 worth of coverage per person in case of death. Motorcycle riders are more likely to get into an accident than regular drivers (e.g. people who drive cars, trucks, minivans, etc.) simply because they are not protected as well as people driving a car that shelters them from the external environment.

Motorcycle riders face a danger inherent to operating a vehicle without a protective enclosure, something that protects people who operate general-use vehicles in the event of an accident. If you are injured in a motorcycle accident, the first thing you should do is call an ambulance. Don't risk tending to your own medical needs—this often results in the exacerbation of injuries and only compounds the adverse circumstances. Regarding the person with whom you were involved in the accident, you can negotiate a mutual agreement whereby both your and their injuries and property are repaired financially.

As a motorcycle rider, you face risks most other drivers do not. Since you are not protected by a large enclosure complete with airbags and other safety features, you must be extra careful when operating your motorcycle. Drivers know to keep an eye out for you, but you must be careful yourself too.