FloridaDriversLicenses.org Articles

FLORIDA LAWS AGAINST TEXTING & DRIVING

It doesn't take a crystal ball or a highway safety scientist to predict that cell phone use is the most common driving distraction for vehicle operators. Nonetheless, many people are unaware that texting, dialing, talking and even listening to your calls, cause nearly equal numbers of crashes.

As of October, 2013 the state of Florida passed legislation to ban cell phone texting while driving. However, the violation is not as cut and dry as it sounds. Under the new FL law, texting and driving, even though prohibited, will be considered a secondary offense. Meaning drivers must be stopped for a separate alleged traffic violation before being ticketed for texting while driving.

A recent survey from the National Security Council (NSC) shows that 10 percent of daytime motorists use some type of hand-held or hands-free phone. The NSC also shows comparisons between the slower reaction times of someone using a cell phone and that of an impaired driver. A similar study then compares driver reaction time between those using cell phones to that of elderly vehicle operators. It is clear that using a cell phone while driving can severely diminish driving abilities.

The Sunshine State has more than 120,000 miles of roads used by more than 15 million licensed drivers. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, from 2010 through 2011in Florida, at least 85 crashes caused by distracted drivers ended in fatalities.