Florida Drivers Education
Are you a first-time Florida driver? Florida state law requires that all first time Florida drivers take a Florida drivers education course prior to applying for a driver license. Safety is more important than anything else, which is why the state of Florida has put strict laws in place regarding drivers education. To prepare yourself to get your license, you should begin by do the following:
2: Study the Florida Driver Handbook
3: Download the appropriate study materials and practice tests
4: Enroll in a state-approved Drivers Ed course.
Before you can apply for a drivers license in Florida, you will need to learn the Florida state driving rules and basic skills. The Florida Driver Handbook contains information about Florida laws, regulations and procedures.
Your school might offer drivers ed. If you choose to take a drivers ed course at your school, that class will likely cover the first-time driver education requirements established by the state of Florida.
If you do not attend a school that offers drivers ed, you'll need to take the following required course through a third party or private company:
Florida Graduated License System
Once you have completed your Florida drivers ed class you will be ready to apply for your learners license.
To apply for your new license, you must provide:
- Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course
- Parental Consent Form
- Documents needed to establish your proof of identity, proof of social security number (if issued), and proof of residential address.*see below
You are required to take:
- A Written Test (for more information on taking your DMV Test)
- Vision Test
- Hearing Test
With your Learners license, you may:
Only drive during daylight hours during the first three months. After the first three months you can only drive until 10 p.m. You must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and they must be seated in your front passenger seat at all times.
To earn an operator's license, you must:
- Be at least 16 years old AND have held a learner's license for at least one year
- Have had no traffic violations
- Take and pass a driving test
You must provide:
- A Florida learners license or a license from another state
- Parent or guardian certification that you have completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving (10 of those hours must be at night)
If you are 16, you may only drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 11 p.m., unless accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed driver seated in the front passenger seat. With an intermediate license, If you are 17, you may drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 1 a.m., unless accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed driver seated in the front passenger seat.
- Certified United States birth certificate, including territories and District of Columbia
- Valid United States Passport or Passport Card
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570
- Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561
Proof of Social Security
- Social Security card (must be an original in your current full name)
- W-2 form (not handwritten)
- Pay check/stub
- Any 1099 (not handwritten)
Proof of Residential Address
Gather TWO different documents from the following list showing your residential address: (internet printouts or faxes of these documents are acceptable)
- Deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental/lease agreement
- Florida Voter Registration card
- Florida Vehicle registration or title
Find out how to get your Florida Learners Permit here.