- Licenses & ID
- Vehicle Registration
- Titles & Bill of Sale
- Tests & Manuals
- Reports & Records
- Tickets & Violations
- Commercial Drivers
- Insurance Center
- Vehicle Services
- Traffic & Safety Laws
- Site Tools
This site is privately owned and is neither affiliated with, nor endorsed by, nor operated by any government agency. Visit the DMV >
Your source for Florida driver's license information
Notice: Driver license changes and applications must be processed at an official DMV location or website. This website provides links to official DMV services which may be free of charge as well as third-party application assistance services and products that charge a fee. Application assistance value added services are designed to better prepare you and help save you time for many DMV-related services. They provide personalized information, customer support, additional vehicle related products and where possible, document preparation. The information on this site is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or up-to-date.
How To Reinstate a Suspended Florida License
Do you need to reinstate your suspended Florida drivers license? The reinstatement process doesn't have to be complicated, but make sure you do it in a timely manner.
Driving with a suspended Florida drivers license is a serious offense with serious consequences. A suspended license can even result in jail time if not reinstated. We've collected helpful information to assist you with everything you need to reinstate your Florida license. Select from the options below to get started.
Application assistance services can simplify the process for many DMV related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to assistance in preparing official forms, the value added services and products you will receive include a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs; 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.
2: By mail
Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DMV.
3: Via a DMV office
If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DMV office. Varying DMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DMV allows you to make a personal appointment.
Reasons for a Suspended Florida Drivers License
Driving Under the Influence - DUI
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol will result in suspension of your driving privileges for a period determined by the number of similar violations and the time between violations. A DUI may result in a suspension for as little as 6 months with your first conviction. Further convictions may result in a suspension for up to 10 years. You will also be required to complete a DUI program before your license is reinstated.
Depending on the degree of your violation, you may be able to apply for a restricted license allowing you to drive between school and work. Additional DUIs may result in further suspension.
For full step-by-step instructions on how to reinstate your suspended Florida license, visit Drivers-licenses.org
Not Completing Traffic School
As penalty for a traffic violation, Florida drivers may be asked to complete a court-ordered traffic school course. Failure to complete a traffic course will result in a suspension of your driving privileges.
Failure to Appear on a Traffic Summons or Pay Fine
Also, if you have been issued a traffic summons or a fine, and have not appeared in court or paid the full amount, you may be issued an indefinite suspension of your Florida driver license.
Lack of Auto Insurance
The state of Florida requires that owners of motor vehicles maintain at least a minimum level of car insurance. Failure to have adequate insurance on your vehicle may result in suspension of your Florida drivers license for up to three years.
If your vision is poor and you do not seek some form of vision correction, your license may be suspended indefinitely. You might be able to reinstate your suspended Florida license if you are later able to prove that minimum vision standards are met.
Suspension for Points
If you accrue too many points on your license in a short period of time it will be suspended for at least 30 days and up to 12 months. These points will remain on your driver record for 36 months, starting from the date of conviction.
Traffic Violation resulting in personal injury or death – No DUI
If your traffic violation resulted in death or serious bodily injury, but did not involve Driving While Under the Influence (DUI), your license will be suspended for 3 months to 1 year.
Habitual Traffic Offender - HTO
If you are consistently involved in traffic violations, you will be listed as a Habitual Traffic Offender. Your license will be revoked for up to five years. Driving while your license is revoked may result in imprisonment in the county jail and further fines.
- Download comprehensive checklists, tips and resources to guide you with DMV related services.- Find the State of Florida DMV location closest to you, or for free forms visit the official government website.
- Additional Resources
Did You Know?