Florida Salvage Titles

An auto involved in an accident in the state of Florida becomes a salvage vehicle if the damage estimate is 80 percent or more of its value to completely replace it. If the vehicle is restored, you as the owner, have to acquire a rebuilt title from a Florida DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). Please note that a vehicle becomes eligible for a FL salvage rebuilt title after your insurance agency declares it to be a total loss after an accident. At that point the car can be sold for parts, or restored.

1: Get Started with Online Application Assistance

Application assistance services can simplify the process for many DMV related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to assistance in preparing official forms, the value added services and products you will receive include a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs; 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.

2: By mail

Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DMV.

3: Via a DMV office

If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DMV office. Varying DMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DMV allows you to make a personal appointment.




Until a Florida salvage title is issued:

  • You can't have a valid plate on the car
  • You are not allowed to drive the vehicle on roads of any type
  • The salvaged auto has to be repaired first in order to be a rebuilt vehicle

Applying for a Florida Salvage Certificate of Title

To apply for a salvage car title in Florida, you'll need to go to your local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office location. Along with your application you'll have to have the vehicle's original certificate of title, the manufacturer's certificate of origin or out-of-state title. The state of Florida requires you to apply for a rebuilt title from the DMV if the vehicle doesn't meet the 80 percent rule to be legally declared a total loss. Note: It is against Florida law to rebuild a vehicle and sell it after indicating a total loss.

Rebuildable Salvage Title - Not Rebuildable Salvage Title

  • A Rebuildable FL Salvage Title means that it can be repaired and driven
  • A Not Rebuildable FL Salvage Title means that it must be sold for parts

If the total cost of repairing the vehicle or rebuilding the vehicle is less than 80 percent damage, a FL Salvage Rebuildable or FL Salvage Rebuildable Flood certificate of Title for an uninsured motor vehicle can be issued.

FL Salvage Title Application/Form

To begin the process of filling out your Florida salvage title application, click here. Please bring the completed form to your local FL tax collector's office for filing.

Florida Salvage Rebuilt Titles

In the state of Florida, it's against the law to sell a rebuilt auto title if the official DMV stamp on the certificate of title does not indicate the vehicle has been rebuilt or assembled from parts, or is a replica, kit car, glider kit or flood vehicle. The Florida DMV has to examine the automobile before a FL salvage title certificate can be issued. If the DMV has not displayed an official decal stating the auto has been rebuilt, the document is null and void.

Title an Abandoned Vehicle in Florida

To title an abandoned vehicle in Florida you will need to fill out a Florida Salvage Title application form, pay the appropriate title fee and turn it into your local tax collector's office. For more information, go to http://www.flhsmv.gov/html/titlinf.html.




Related Articles:

BEFORE BILL OF SALE, GET A VEHICLE HISTORY REPORT

When you file a bill of sale, you need to know as much  as possible about the vehicle you are buying or selling. Providing false information on your bill of sale can result in legal penalties and jail time if the offense is serious enough. A complete bill of sale acceptable by the state of Florida will require you to list a multitude of identifying details about the car being purchased. Read more...

5 TIPS ON BUYING A USED CAR

Buying a used car is very different from buying a new car. A new car usually comes with a trusted manufacturer's warranty, a low odometer reading and peace of mind. When you buy a used car, you are inheriting a car that was subject to the driving habits of people you do not know. The driver either maintained the vehicle, or may have done significant damage while driving it. Either way, you should know some tips when buying a used car. Read more...

BILL OF SALE VS. TITLE TRANSFER

Many people confuse the documents, 'Bill of Sale,' and 'Title,' documents frequently used to reflect that a vehicle has changed ownership. If ownership is not officially transferred, this can result in inconveniences for both parties, including the county in which the transaction takes place. Read more...